A- A A+
Last Updated : Oct 17 2019 10:28PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
J&K Legislative Council abolished; Ladakh Affairs Department shifted to Leh            PM Modi says, Govt committed to build strong and unified India            Chidambaram sent to ED custody till Oct 24 in INX Media case            India urges Pak not to levy service fee on pilgrims to Kartarpur Corridor            Karnataka tops first ever India Innovation Index launched by NITI Aayog           

National News

Jun 20, 2019

VP Naidu seeks support of political parties for smooth functioning of Rajya Sabha

Vice President and Chairman of Rajya Sabha M. Venkaiah Naidu has sought the support of all political parties for the smooth functioning of the House. 

At a luncheon meet, hosted at his residence in New Delhi today, Mr Naidu called upon the floor leaders in Rajya Sabha to accord top priority for fulfilling people’s aspirations. 

Stressing the need for all members to always uphold the dignity and decorum of the House and adopt the best parliamentary practices and traditions, he said, Rajya Sabha must act as a role model to all legislatures in the country. 

Referring to the recent elections and the mandate given by the people, the Vice President said, the time has come for all parties to keep aside their political differences and strive for building a New India. 

Mr Naidu said that the Government, opposition and representatives of all parties must have a healthy dialogue on important issues including the passage of bills. 

Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha Harivansh, Leader of the Upper House Thawarchand Gehlot, Leader of the Opposition Gulam Nabi Azad, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Prahlad Joshi, A Navaneethakrishnan of AIADMK, Derek O'Brien of Trinamool Congress, Prasanna Acharya of BJD, R.C.P. Singh of JD-U, Y.S. Chowdary of TDP, Dr. K. Keshava Rao of TRS, T.K. Rangarajan of CPI (M), Prem Chand Gupta of RJD, Tiruchi Shiva of DMK, Sanjay Raut of Shiv Sena, Ram Kumar Kashyap of INLD, Sardar Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa of SAD, Sanjay Singh of AAP, V. Vijayasai Reddy of YSRCP and D. Raja of CPI were present at the meeting.

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 17 (Oct) Midday News 17 (Oct) News at Nine 17 (Oct) Hourly 17 (Oct) (1800hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 17 (Oct) दोपहर समाचार 17 (Oct) समाचार संध्या 17 (Oct) प्रति घंटा समाचार 17 (Oct) (2200hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 17 (Oct) Khabrein(Day) 17 (Oct) Khabrein(Eve) 17 (Oct)
Aaj Savere 17 (Oct) Parikrama 16 (Oct)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 17 (Oct) Samayki 17 (Oct) Sports Scan 17 (Oct) Spotlight/News Analysis 17 (Oct) Samachar Darshan 16 (Oct) Radio Newsreel 17 (Oct)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 17 (Oct) Surkhiyon Mein 17 (Oct) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 16 (Oct) Vaad-Samvaad 15 (Oct) Money Talk 15 (Oct) Current Affairs 11 (Oct)