A- A A+
Last Updated : Jun 1 2020 2:41PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
Several states announce relaxations in activities in first phase of nationwide 'unlock'            Over 91,000 people recover from COVID-19            Reform in Health, Medical education given top priority by govt says PM; Lauds front line health care workers in fight against corona virus            Delhi Chief Minister announces sealing of state borders for one week            Railways to ferry over 1,45,000 passengers by 200 Special trains across country today           

State News

Jul 13, 2019

Goa cabinet reshuffled; four BJP ministers inducted

The Goa cabinet was reshuffled today with the induction of four BJP ministers  Michael Lobo, Chandrakant Kavlekar, Jennifer Monserratte and Philip Nery Rodrigues. 

Governor Mridula Sinha administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers at Raj Bhavan, Dona Paula near Panaji. 

Earlier today, Chief Minister Pramod Sawant dropped ministers Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palyenkar, Jayesh Salgaonkar, all three from Goa Forward party; and Rohan Khaunte, an independent MLA before inducting four new BJP ministers. 

Deputy Sspeaker of Goa Legislative assembly Michael Lobo resigned today before taking oath as a minister.

AIR correspondent reports that Chief Minister Pramod Sawant maintained that the decision of inducting new ministers into cabinet was taken after getting nod from the central leadership of the party.

He added that now BJP government in Goa has a full majority.  On Wednesday, 10 of the total 15 Congress MLAs in the Goa legislative assembly had split to merge with the BJP.

Three of them, were inducted into the cabinet today. The 40-member Goa assembly currently has 27 BJP legislators, five Congress MLAs, three each from Goa Forward Party and independents, and one each from Nationalist Congress Party and Maharasthrawadi Gomantak Party. 

   Related News

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 1 (Jun) Midday News 1 (Jun) News at Nine 31 (May) Hourly 1 (Jun) (1300hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 1 (Jun) दोपहर समाचार 31 (May) समाचार संध्या 31 (May) प्रति घंटा समाचार 1 (Jun) (1305hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 1 (Jun) Khabrein(Day) 1 (Jun) Khabrein(Eve) 31 (May)
Aaj Savere 1 (Jun) Parikrama 31 (May)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 31 (May) Samayki 31 (May) Sports Scan 23 (Mar) Spotlight/News Analysis 31 (May) Samachar Darshan 22 (Mar) Radio Newsreel 21 (Mar)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 12 (Mar) Surkhiyon Mein 31 (May) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 11 (Mar) Vaad-Samvaad 17 (Mar) Money Talk 17 (Mar) Current Affairs 6 (Mar)
  • Money Matters 22 (Mar)
  • International News 22 (Mar)
  • Press Review 23 (Mar)
  • From the States 23 (Mar)
  • Let's Connect 22 (Mar)
  • 360°- Ek Parivesh 23 (Mar)
  • Know Your Constitution 30 (Jan)
  • Ek Bharat Shreshta Bharat 22 (Mar)
  • Sanskriti Darshan 23 (Mar)
  • Fit India New India 23 (Mar)
  • Weather Report 21 (Mar)
  • North East Diaries 22 (Mar)
  • 150 Years of Bapu 22 (Mar)
  • Sector Specific Discussions 22 (Mar)